In the Galleries

Exposure: Native Art and Political Ecology

ANOINTED (film still), 2017. Video, 6 min. 8 sec. Written and performed by Kathy Jetñil-Kijiner (Marshallese-Majol). Directed by Daniel Lin.

Exposure: Native Art and Political Ecology
July 28, 2023 - November 12, 2023

Woody and Gayle Hunt Family Gallery

Exposure: Native Art and Political Ecology documents international Indigenous artists’ responses to the impacts of nuclear testing, nuclear accidents, and uranium mining on Native peoples and the environment. The traveling exhibition and catalog give artists a voice to address the long-term effects of these man-made disasters on Indigenous communities in the United States and around the world. Indigenous artists from Australia, Canada, Greenland, Japan, Pacific Islands, and the United States utilize tribal knowledge, as well as Indigenous and contemporary art forms as visual strategies for their thought-provoking artworks.

Exposure: Native Art and Political Ecology is co-curated by iBiennale Director Dr. Kóan Jeff Baysa (Ibanag); Nuuk Art Museum Director Nivi Christensen (Inuit); Hokkaido Museum of Modern Art Chief Curator Satomi Igarashi; Art Gallery of New South Wales Assistant Curator of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Art Erin Vink (Ngiyampaa), Independent Curator Tania Willard (Secwepemc Nation), and MoCNA Chief Curator Manuela Well-Off-Man.

Exposure: Native Art and Political Ecology is organized by IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts, Santa Fe, NM.

Support for this exhibition is provided by Ford Foundation, Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, and by Air Tahiti Nui.

Additional support is provided by the Mellon Foundation, the Texas Commission on the Arts, El Paso Museum of Art Foundation, and the El Paso Museums and Cultural Affairs Department.

Exhibition Artists

  • Australia - APY Art Collective Artists (Pitjantjatjara/Yankunytjatjara/Luritja), Gunybi Ganambarr (Yolngu), Hilda Moodoo (Pitjantjatjara), Kunmanara Queama (Pitjantjatjara), Karrika Belle Davidson (Pitjantjatjara), Yhonnie Scarce (Kokatha/Nukunu)

  • Canada - Adrian Stimson (Blackfoot), Bonnie Devine (Anishinaabe/Ojibwa), Carl Beam (Ojibway), David Neel (Kwakwaka’wakw)

  • Greenland - Bolatta Silis-Høegh (Inuit), Ivinguak Stork Høegh (Inuit), Jessie Kleemann (Inuit)

  • Japan - Kohei Fujito (Ainu), OKI (Ainu)

  • Pacific Islands - Alexander Lee (Hakka Chinese/Tahiti), Dan Lin, Dan Taulapapa McMullin (Samoan), Joy Enomoto (Kanaka Maoli/Caddo), Kathy Jetñil-Kijiner (Marshallese-Majol), Mariquita “Micki” Davis (CHamoru), Munro Te Whata (Māori/Niuean), Solomon Enos (Kanaka Maoli), No’u Revilla (Kanaka Maoli)

  • USA - Anna Tsouhlaraskis (Navajo/Creek/Greek), De Haven Solimon Chaffins (Laguna/Zuni), Jane Benale (Diné), Klee Benally (Diné), Malcom Benally (Diné), Ann Collier, Pat Courtney Gold (Warm Springs), Kim Hahn (Korean), Jerrel Singer (Diné), Mallery Quetawki (Zuni), Will Wilson (Diné)

what's happening

Let's Talk

What have you always wanted to ask the museum?